Protecting the Old Irish Goat – with Joe and Helen

All goats are great! But the Old Irish Goat is particulary special. It is the original landrace breed of goat in Ireland, believed now through genetic testing to go back to the times of neolithic people in Ireland.

The Old Irish Goat Society has been formed to protect it. In June while hitching round the west coast of Ireland, I went in search of this wonderful goat. I was not disappointed!

In Westport in Co. Mayo, I met with Joe O’Grady who is in charge of day to day husbandry for the main captive breeding population. I then went to Mulranny where the Old Irish Goat Society has its headquarters and shop. I spoke with volunteer Helen Walker there.

Join me as I find out more about this wonderful breed, why it is important to our sustainability and resilience, and how important it is that we do more to protect it.

To listen to this programme about PROTECTING THE OLD IRISH GOAT please click on http://www.accessradio.org/Player.aspx?eid=1b8a8337-fd6e-4d74-b79d-ba64fe16a5be

(If you want to listen to this show and the link is not working – please let me know! We endeavour to re-air our older popular shows on request.)

This show was originally broadcast on the 27th July 2017 with the help of Otago Access Radio 105.4FM. Eco Living in Action is sponsored by Sustainable Dunedin City.

For more information

One of the magnificant Old Irish Goats I saw that is part of a breeding programme to assist this landrace breed.

Joe O’Grady who is in charge of day to day husbandry for the goats kept in Westport in Co Mayo.

Helen Walker, Volunteer, with the Old Irish Goat Society – at the Craft Shop in Mulranny

Craft and Information Centre for the Old Irish Goat Society at Mulranny

Mulranny is a picturesque small community. In the hills around Mulranny, Old Irish Goats have been found that are not contaminated with more modern breeds.

Its breeding season for the Old Irish Goats

 

2 thoughts on “Protecting the Old Irish Goat – with Joe and Helen

  1. Hi there,

    I’ve just listened to the show about goats, because my Mother is involved in the craft shop, which raises money for the goats in Mulranny.

    I’m from County Mayo and I live in Christchurch, NZ.

    I just wanted to let you know that twice, at the beginning and end of your broadcast, you said Westport & Mulranny were in County Galway…
    And they’re in County Mayo!
    So you may like to correct this on your blog and radio show because it’s misleading and unhelpful for anyone who’s interested in helping or getting involved in some way.

    So I hope this helps.

    I know Helen Walker. So it was great to hear her work being broadcast.

    Thanks for the show.
    Slainte

    Mary Jane

    • Hi Mary Jane

      Good to hear from you – and that you know Helen and the craft shop. Small world. Thanks very much for the correction – yes my mistake! I’ve changed the text here on this website so I hope people will be able to find the Craft Centre. As the show is aired its difficult to change at this point.

      Best wishes
      Maureen

Leave a Reply

